Rhode Island takes a hard stance against drunk driving. In addition to being penalized with jail time and fines, convicted drivers can get their driver’s licenses suspended as well.
According to the state’s Implied Consent laws, if you operate a vehicle then you are giving consent to chemical blood content (BAC) testing. If the results of this test determine that your BAC is at or above the legal limit, you can be charged with a DUI. If you refuse to take a BAC test, you will face penalties under the Implied Consent laws, which include driver’s license suspension ranging from six months to one year.
The penalties for a DUI charge depend on a number of offenses, BAC level, age, and whether the suspected driver’s actions caused an accident or injury. Those who are 21 years of age and over, with a BAC between 0.08% and 0.10%, can get their license suspended for 30 to 180 days. If your BAC is 0.10% or above, or it is unknown, the suspension can be even longer.
If you are convicted of DUI resulting in serious injury, your driver’s license can be revoked for up to two years. On the other hand, if you are convicted of DUI resulting in death, your driver’s license can be revoked for up to five years.
Is There a Way I Can Still Drive My Vehicle While My License is Suspended?
Yes, a court can grant you a Hardship license and require you to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle. However, it is imperative to seek legal assistance from an experienced DUI attorney to help you obtain the means to continue driving.
If you were arrested and charged with a DUI, request a free consultation from Rhode Island DUI lawyer Tom Thomasian today.