Getting arrested for a DUI can be a frightening and overwhelming experience. You could potentially face severe penalties, such as license suspension, fines, community service, and possibly jail time.
One of the first questions our Rhode Island DUI attorney is always asked is, “Am I going to jail for my DUI charge?” It is important to understand that when you are charged with a DUI in Rhode Island, you are presumed innocent and are not convicted of the crime until you either plead guilty, plead no contest, or you are found guilty after a trial in court.
If you have no prior convictions for a DUI and no one was harmed because of the way you were driving your vehicle at the time of your arrest, then it is unlikely that you will face a jail sentence if convicted. A first offense is punishable by up to one year in jail, license suspension of up to 180 days, fines of up to $800, community service of up to 60 hours, and enrollment in a driving school and/or alcohol treatment program.
The following are aggravating factors which can enhance punishment and make the sentence greater than the mandatory minimum:
- A prior DUI conviction
- An exceptionally high BAC level
- DUI charge was the result of a motor vehicle accident
- If anyone was injured as the result of the offender’s driving actions
- A “bad” criminal record, even if it is not related to DUI
- A “bad” driving record that includes a high number of moving violations
If you were recently arrested and charged with a DUI in Rhode Island, contact The Law Office of Thomas C. Thomasian, Esq. and schedule a free consultation today.