24/7 Availability Call Today for a Free Consultation
Those charged with DUI under the age of 21 fall into a special category called underage DUI. Since an immense amount of alcohol-related automobile accidents are caused by underage drinkers, the penalties for individuals under 21 may be harsher than those of legal age. If you have been arrested for a DUI and you are under the age of 21, our Rhode Island DUI attorney possesses the in-depth understanding of state driving laws, DMV processes, and court proceedings to help you obtain your desired results.
We are available 24/7 to our clients for any questions or concerns.
In Rhode Island, if a chemical test determines that a driver under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher, then the driver can be cited for a DUI, as opposed to a BAC of 0.08% for those 21 or older. Young drivers can be charged with “driving while impaired” if a chemical test determines a BAC between 0.02% and 0.08%.
While not a criminal offense, a person may face the following penalties:
Suspended license of one to three months
Alcohol treatment program
30 hours of community service
$300 highway safety assessment
Suspended license of three to six months
60 hours of community service
Alcohol treatment program
Having a blood alcohol of more than 0.08% can result in actual misdemeanor or felony charges which can include jail time and a longer suspension of your driver’s license.
Further consequences can come from your police stop including soliciting alcohol, minor in possession of alcohol, or possession of false identification which carry additional consequences.
On top of this, many car insurance companies will choose to terminate or refuse to renew your policy after an underage DUI conviction. Other companies will simply increase monthly premiums by hundreds of dollars to offset the higher risk you pose as the insured. You could be forced to obtain special SR-22 insurance and present it to the DMV in order to have your driver’s license reinstated after your suspension is over.
Along with these harsh penalties, you may also be charged with distributing alcohol to minors, minor in possession of alcohol, child endangerment, possession of false identification, etc. At The Law Office of Thomas C. Thomasian, Esq., our Rhode Island DUI lawyer is committed to build an aggressive and personalized strategy to have your charges reduced or case entirely dismissed.
Contact our Rhode Island defense firm to schedule your free consultation today.